The Church Of God In Christ
Greater Maryland First Jurisdiction
Synoptic History

GMD First History
1923- Organized as a component of Tri-State region (the District of Columbia, Maryland and Delaware) Bishop W.H. Herring, Overseer

1927 – First Holy Convocation, Bishop Samuel Kelsey & Bishop O.T. Jones, Sr. as Overseers: Mother Annie Pennington (Bailey), Supervisor of Women

1936 – Elder Randolph A. Carr establishes Rehoboth Church Of God In

Christ on Mount Street – becomes State Overseer

1946 – Overseer Carr severs ties with the Church Of God In Christ: Bishop D. Lawrence Williams becomes State Bishop

1959 – Elder Theodore Young elevated Bishop of Maryland

1980 – Presiding Bishop J.O. Patterson, Sr. appoints Superintendent David W. Spann, Sr. as Chairman of the Executive Board

1984 – Bishop Young designated as Bishop Emeritus

1985 – Chairman Spann appointed & consecrated Jurisdictional Prelate by the entire General Board

1986 – 2007

- Name changed to Greater Maryland First Jurisdiction
- Largest Jurisdiction in the State of Maryland
- Establishment and enhancement of numerous Jurisdictionalprograms, auxiliaries and services (i.e. JurisdictionalAdjutancy,Jurisdiction Secretary, Auxiliaries In Mininstry,
Ordination Standards, C.H. Mason System of Bible Colleges, etc.)

Forty-Three established churches

-October 28, 2007 Bishop David Washington Spann, Sr. enters the"Church Triumphant"
-December 3, 2007 Bishop Charles Edward Blake, Sr., PresidingBishop and members of the General Board appoint Elder Joel
Harley Lyles, Jr. as Bishop-Designate

GMD Calendar 2